Behaviors: What to prefer between [Change Property], [Activate State], [Go to State]? RRS feed

• Question

• I have been using Expression Blend for several months now, and I am still not clear what should be preferred to simply display or hide subwindows in a screen.

Use case: I have a specific window that I want to display upon pressing a button that belongs to a user control ("Open") button. Once this window is displayed I want to be able to hide it by clicking a "Close" button that belongs to that window.

Here is what I have in detail:

I have a main page (Screen1), and I created a user control (Control1) that has the button "Open" in it. I turned the window into a component screen (ComponentScreen1). I also set 2 states for the component screen: "Shown" and "Hidden". "Shown" sets Visibility to "Visible" and "Hidden" sets Visibility to "Collapsed".

I placed the elements in Screen1, so that I have on Screen1: Control 1 (that displays the button "Open") and ComponentScreen1.

Problem is that whatever I do, when I edit the button in the Control1 editing screen, I cannot make the button "Open" have any impact on the display of Component Screen1 in Screen1:
    • if I use [Change Property] behavior for a click on button "Open", there is no choice for me to select the ComponentScreen1 in Screen1
    • if I use [Activate State] behavior, whatever I put in the Target Screen (I tried the component name, everything...), and if I type "Shown" in the TargetState, nothing happens
    • if I use [GoToState] behavior, I cannot select anything that is not in the current control (like in [Change Property] case).
    I assume I should use [Activate State] to make it happen, but there must be something that I don't get, because I cannot make it work.

Any help out there?

Thx

Monday, November 23, 2009 2:43 PM

Answers