none
read an excel file in C# RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I need to create something quickly in C# that basically takes everything from an excel file, and put them into a 2D string array. Now I have no experience in programming in C# and has minimal database knowledge, and I've been reading up on the OLEDB and ODBC stuff which I think that's what I want, but I'm having some problems finding some basic instructions online. Can anyone give me a good pointer?

thanks!
    Tuesday, April 29, 2008 6:00 PM

Answers

• 1. Here is article that explains about 255 characters limitation. It would require registry settings from you

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/189897/en-us

2. Your second question is not clear. What is "define->name"

3. Since Excel is not really a database with fixed columns structure and each cell has its own data type, Jet tries to guess types of column based on initial scanning of first N rows. Based on that scan it will select some type. Since most of rows contain mix of numbers and string, Jet will use string as a type for the columns in many cases. You cannot force Jet to use specific data type. In some cases you even may get NULL values instead of actual one for the rows that do not match type of the columns. For example, if Jet (based on initial scan) defines column as numeric and later gets some string values, it will return NULL. To resolve this issue you can use Visual Studio Tools for Office. They are COM-based, but provide full access to the data without any loss. I also developed 100% .NET managed Excel reader that resolves limitations with data types and returns each cell value in its native type. If you are interested you could try it downloading it from my web site.

Wednesday, April 30, 2008 2:27 AM
  • Yes, you can query data from the whole spreadsheet using next kind of query

SELECT * FROM [SheetName$]

As you see you need to append $ to the actual spreadsheet name

Wednesday, April 30, 2008 11:42 PM

All replies