Using the starter kit RRS feed

• Question

• User-823544166 posted

I'm trying to modify the club starter kit.  I've opened VB, and now I have no idea how to get the kit into VB to modify it. There are no instructions on how to actually use the starter kit.  I'm new to this and just want to know what files in the starter kit are being brought in?  The starter kit zip file contains a large amount of files with extensions I'm not familiar with.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Am I bringing the kit folder and it's contents into the folder created when I downlowed VB?  I'm familiar with FrontPage and Dreamweaver.  These programs recognize their own files.  When I opened VB then opened the starter kit folder nothing was there as if none of the files were compatible.  Thanks        

Thursday, April 3, 2008 10:52 AM

All replies

• User1383420261 posted

After you've installed the Club Web Site Starter Kit, you'll see a project template available in the "My Templates" section of the New Web Site dialog. So to get there, do this from Visual Studio:

File --> New Web Site

You will see a section called "My Templates" and the starter kit will be listed there. Click on the starter kit, fill in the details below (location of the site, etc.) and you are off and running. Studio will create you a solution to work from and you can make mods there.

Hope this helps...

Thursday, April 3, 2008 11:48 AM
  • User-823544166 posted

I use firefox, and firefox saves files on my desktop as a default.  I tried to find where that file should go but had no idea where.  Should I try and find the folder you are speaking of and drop it in there?  That template is not listed there so where do I go from here?

Thursday, April 3, 2008 12:34 PM
  • User1383420261 posted

Just run the .vsi from wherever FireFox saves it (desktop or other). This will install the template and it will then be visible in the way that I explained earlier.

Darrin

Friday, April 4, 2008 10:02 AM