none
What in the world are classes? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a new programmer, and I'm on a roll writing VBA applications for Access, Excel, Word, PowerPoint, and making them all play ball seamlessly with each other. But I can't wrap my mind around one concept: what the heck are classes? I can't grasp what they do, what merit they have, or just what their purpose is altogether.

Whoever can help me understand classes gets a cookie.

Tuesday, October 25, 2011 7:40 PM

Answers

• No, that is an Excel Object, that's why I should actually not use the word 'object'.

An object is a combination of code and data that can be treated as a unit. An object can be a piece of an application, like a control or a form. An entire application can also be an object.

Each object in Visual Basic is defined by a class. A class describes the variables, properties, procedures, and events of an object. Objects are instances of classes; you can create as many objects you need once you have defined a class.

To understand the relationship between an object and its class, think of cookie cutters and cookies. The cookie cutter is the class. It defines the characteristics of each cookie, for example size and shape. The class is used to create objects. The objects are the cookies.

You must create an object before you can access its members.

Another explenation (from the book Access 2010 Programmer Reference):

In object-oriented programming (OOP) an object is a unique instance of a data structure, called a class, that has both properties (which defin its characteristics) and procedures called methods (which define its behavior).

Templates are a good way to think about the distinction between a class module and a class instance. The class module is equivelant to a Word template and an instance of the class would be equivelant to a Word document that is based on that template.

Does that make sense?

Daniel van den Berg | Washington, USA | "Anticipate the difficult by managing the easy"