none
Why the use of ReadOnlyCollection in this Convertion method RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there:

I'm studying Data Validation in Bindings, and I ran accross this Validation method:

public class ErrorsToMessageConverter : IValueConverter {
        public object Convert(object value, Type targetType, object parameter, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) {
            var sb = new StringBuilder();
            var errors = value as ReadOnlyCollection<ValidationError>;
            if (errors != null) {
                foreach (var e in errors.Where(e => e.ErrorContent != null)) {
                    sb.AppendLine(e.ErrorContent.ToString());
                }
            }

return sb.ToString();
        }

public object ConvertBack(object value, Type targetType, object parameter, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) {
            throw new NotImplementedException();
        }
    }

This is the xaml that uses it:

<TextBlock Margin="2" Foreground="Red" FontWeight="Bold" 
            Text="{Binding ElementName=AddressBox, 
                            Path=(Validation.Errors),
                            Converter={StaticResource ErrorsToMessageConverter}}" />

It's clear that we are obtaining a collection of errors (Validation.Errors), but why do we use
    ReadOnlyCollection<ValidationError> instead of just Collection or Array?, I tried changing it, and the app ceased to work!

Thanks in advance,

Rafael

Believe you can do it, and you will!!

Wednesday, November 20, 2013 9:12 PM

Answers

• The type of the Validation.Errors attached property is System.Collections.ObjectModel.ReadOnlyObservableCollection<ValidationError>. A ValidationError object is added to the Validation.Errors collection of the bound element by the binding engine at runtime if the validation fails, but the application cannot modify the content of this collection.