Win32_LogicalDiskToPartition does not return any results RRS feed

• Question

• I am pretty new at coding C# and WMI, so if this comes up as a really simple solution please forgive me. I've spent the past day or so trying to find a solution to this and it's either not there or I've not found the right keywords.

I am using WMI to retrieve the drive letter for a PCMCIA card on a laptop. The purpose of this is to scan the PC Card for a specific set of files and copy them to a known folder. I have two WinXP SP2 machines and a Win7 machine that return different results.

The code below returns the drive correct drive on the Win7 drive and one of the WinXP machines, but fails on the other WinXP machine. I've narrowed it down to the Win32_LogicalDiskToPartition query, where it does not return any results. I've extended this with a test using WMIExplorer and found that SELECT * from Win32_LogicalDiskToPartition does not return any results on the machine that fails.

The only difference that I am able to discern is that the user accounts on the two machines that work have local admin privileges whereas the machine that fails does not. Is this a limitation of the Win32_LogicalDiskToPartition class, or should I be looking somewhere else?

----------------------CUT--------------------------------

public static void PCCardDetect(string strDrive){

// define variables.
       string strQuery, strSystemDrive, strTemp;
       ConnectionOptions conOptions;
       ManagementScope scope;
       ManagementObjectSearcher colLogicalDisk, colPartitions, colDisks, colIDEInterfaces;

// Connect to WMI service
       try {
        conOptions = new ConnectionOptions();
        conOptions.Impersonation = ImpersonationLevel.Impersonate;
        scope = new ManagementScope("\\root\\cimv2", conOptions);
        scope.Connect();
        LogFile.Log("Connected to WMI");

} catch (Exception ex) {
        LogFile.Log("Could not connect to WMI " + ex.Message);
        return;
       }