LINQ to Entities with an XML data source? RRS feed

• Question

• Apologies if this is a daft question but is it possible for LINQ to Entities to address data sources other than a relational database?  I am a beginner with LINQ and all the examples I've seen are based on the Northwind and AdventureWorks databases.  Can you use LINQ to Entities with an XML file as the underlying data source?

What I'm hoping is to be able to use the designer to combine entities from different underlying sources (SQL, XML etc.) and address them together with LINQ to Entities.  Is this possible?

Ed Graham
    Thursday, June 11, 2009 10:10 PM

Answers

• Ed,

LINQ to Entities is a "variant" (I don't know the official term) of LINQ that works with Entity Framework objects. WHat you would need to pull this off is an XML provider for the Entity Framework. At this time, I believe that the only MS provider is for SQL Server. I know there is a 3rd party provider for Oracle, and there might be an open source or 3rd party provider for XML (although I couldn't find one for you).

However, at this point I am 99% sure that EF is UNABLE to utilize multiple providers in a single model. I do believe that this is a future feature for Microsoft. (At least I hope so. How cool would that be?)

Hope that helps.

(If you do come across an XML provider for EF, could you post a link here?)

Chris

Chris Snyder, Stumbling through code one day at a time If your question was answered, please mark it.
    • Marked as answer by Ed Graham Friday, June 12, 2009 4:01 AM
    Friday, June 12, 2009 3:54 AM

All replies

• Ed,