Updating data in a SQL Table using data from Gridview RRS feed

• Question

• User980347791 posted

Good day, this is my first time posting here so apologies in advance if I do something wrong.

I've been stucked for days with the next thing. I'm bringing data from a SQL Table and showing it in a Gridview. What I need now is to update a field that I left empty in the table using a textbox that is inside the cells of a column, it's like sharing messages. I've been using examples from internet but nothing seems to work. 

This is the code of my gridview

<asp:GridView ID="GridViewS" runat="server" CssClass="mydatagrid simpleshape1" PagerStyle-CssClass="pager" HeaderStyle-CssClass="header" autogeneratecolumns="False" RowStyle-CssClass="rows">
    <Columns>
    <asp:BoundField DataField="MessageID" HeaderText="ID" SortExpression="DateField"/>
    <asp:BoundField DataField="Number" HeaderText="Number" SortExpression="DateField" />
    <asp:BoundField DataField="Code" HeaderText="Code" SortExpression="DateField" />
    <asp:TemplateField>
    <ItemTemplate>
    <asp:TextBox runat="server" ID="bodymes"></asp:TextBox> <asp:Button runat="server" ID="bsend" OnClick="bsend_Click" text="Answer" />
    </ItemTemplate>
    </asp:TemplateField>

</Columns>

</asp:GridView>

I'm completely lost on what to do in the "bsend_Click" part. I just know that when the user clicks the button the data from the textbox should be save in the SQL table row where the MessageID matches, but I havent figure it out how to obtain those two values. 

Thank you in advance!

Monday, August 14, 2017 3:33 PM

Answers

• User2103319870 posted

I think the problem lies with accessing the data key from Gridview.

You can try with below code

protected void GridViewS_RowUpdating(object sender, GridViewUpdateEventArgs e)
            {
                int row = e.RowIndex;
                //Find the control and get the text from texbox control