none
Ability for End User to Define New Tables from Relational DataSet RRS feed

• Question

• I'm relatively new to using ADO.NET, so please excuse my ignorance if this is trivial or impossible!

I have a relational DataSet that is generated programmatically, containing tables that are then exposed to the end user via a DataGrid control.  What I would like to do is allow the end user to build their own custom table from the tables/fields that are in the DataSet, providing them the flexibility to generate table content as they like (obviously within the constraints of the data relations).

As a hypothetical example, I might have the following:

• Cars table with columns CarID, CarName, RadioID, EngineID
    • Radios table with columns RadioID, RadioBrand, FM?, AM?, CDPlayer?

The end user can see each of these tables individually, but may want a custom table that has columns CarID, CarName, RadioBrand, CDPlayer?

Does anybody know of an example that could handle this that I could use as a starting point?  An open-source project would be great or even a few pointers on how to get started with both the guts to making this work and any ideas for a good UI for doing this.

Thanks in advance for any ideas or suggestions!

Wednesday, November 16, 2011 9:22 PM

All replies

• Hi rogersbr,

You can add some CheckBoxs in your page, the text of every CheckBox is a column's name. Let user to choose which column they want to display in the DataGrid, and add all of them into a list. Then call the method below:

public static DataTable CreateCustomTable(List<string> columnList)
            {
                using (SqlConnection con = new SqlConnection("your connection string"))
                using (SqlCommand cmd = new SqlCommand())
                {
                    int count = columnList.Count();
                    StringBuilder sb = new StringBuilder();

sb.Append("select ");

//add column which need to query 
                    for (int i = 0; i < count; i++)