none
Kernel Crash while accessing PCI express capability registers from PCI configuration space RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to driver development and presently working on a Windows Driver for a PCI express card.

This card has a PCI express capability register. How do I access this ? I am using WDF  - KMDF driver design methodology.

I followed MSDN reference given in this link and modified it for my requirement

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/hardware/drivers/pci/accessing-pci-device-configuration-space?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396

So my code looks like below. I see a crash inside while loop. Am I doing this correctly ?

NTSTATUS
     DevWaitTransPendBit(
    	IN	PDEVICE_CONTEXT    FdoData
    )
    {
    	PAGED_CODE();
    	NTSTATUS     status = STATUS_SUCCESS;
    	/* Wait for all transactions are finished before disabling/restting the device */

PCI_COMMON_HEADER Header;
    	PCI_COMMON_CONFIG *pPciConfig = (PCI_COMMON_CONFIG *)&Header;

UCHAR CapabilityOffset;
    	DbgPrint("PCI_CAPABILITY_ID_PCI_EXPRESS\n");

FdoData->BusInterface.GetBusData(
    		FdoData->BusInterface.Context,
    		PCI_WHICHSPACE_CONFIG,
    		pPciConfig,
    		FIELD_OFFSET(PCI_COMMON_CONFIG, VendorID),
    		0x90);

DbgPrint("==> PCI_CAP_REG 1\n");

if ((pPciConfig->Status &
    		PCI_STATUS_CAPABILITIES_LIST) == 0) {		
    		return(STATUS_NOT_IMPLEMENTED);
    	}

DbgPrint("==> PCI_CAP_REG 2\n");

if ((pPciConfig->HeaderType & (~PCI_MULTIFUNCTION)) == PCI_BRIDGE_TYPE) {
    		CapabilityOffset = 	pPciConfig->u.type1.CapabilitiesPtr;
    	}
    	else if ((pPciConfig->HeaderType & (~PCI_MULTIFUNCTION)) == PCI_CARDBUS_BRIDGE_TYPE) {
    		CapabilityOffset = 	pPciConfig->u.type2.CapabilitiesPtr;
    	}
    	else {
    		DbgPrint("==> PCI_CAP_REG 3\n");
    		CapabilityOffset = 	pPciConfig->u.type0.CapabilitiesPtr;
    	}

DbgPrint("==> PCI_CAP_REG 4\n");
    	DECLSPEC_ALIGN(MEMORY_ALLOCATION_ALIGNMENT) UCHAR buffer[8];