Managing database RRS feed

• Question

• User1870962266 posted

hi, i am new to this . I have to create search engine and database. Suppose , In the database we have to upload list of files from hard disk to local sever and If i search for certain file, i have to select it and download the file.

Thanks

search engine

data base

download
    Tuesday, September 4, 2018 8:41 AM

All replies

• User753101303 posted

Hi,

If you mean the search is based on the file content you have full text search capabilities as part of the database (for example https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sql/relational-databases/search/full-text-search?view=sql-server-2017 with SQL Server) or you could use a 3rd part engine : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Full-text_search#Software

Edit: ah or depending on how it is hosted (you have full control on the hosting server ?) and if you want to keep using Access (really ?) you could try to take advantage of the Windows desktop search : https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/desktop/search/windows-search

Tuesday, September 4, 2018 10:43 AM
  • User1870962266 posted

Hi,

thanks for reply. I have hard disk with list of files( example: text files) and connected to local server , and i have to upload files to database and download it. Suppose in search engine , i wrote letter ´a`´ then in database all files with letter ´ a ´ has to visible and i have to select the file and download it

Tuesday, September 4, 2018 11:46 AM
  • User753101303 posted

"with letter" but where exactly ? So it seems you'll just search in the file name and not in the file content ?

For example you could start with https://floatincode.net/blog/sql-file-stream-in-asp.net-mvc-with-entity-framework/ as anyway you'll need to store files (btw you are using Web Forms or MVC ?)

For now the problem is just about the search or are you new as well about uploading/downloading files ?

Tuesday, September 4, 2018 12:06 PM
  • User1870962266 posted