Create multiple MS-word files using an input .csv file RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,
    I am totally new to C# but I have a good background in programming in Java. I asked a similar question in my other post.
    My input is a .csv with Unicode text with say R = 10 rows ( includes the header) and C = 5 columns

I want to create R-1 = 9 MS-word documents, each with text from rows of the .CSV file, the input file.

I want the text to be right-justified with column names to be the section( heading) names, and the cells to be the context/content of the section. So, after executing C# code, I will end out with 9 MS-word documents generated say 1.docx, 2.docx, ....

If anyone could guide me through this also tell which APIs I need to use I do appreciate it.

Sunday, November 1, 2020 8:52 AM

All replies

• There are two different techniques that you can use to create the Word documents. The first is to use Word itself. If it is installed in the same machine where you are running the program, your program can use OLE automation to control Word via COM/Interop, thus giving Word the commands to produce the files.

The second is to use an external library to directly create the files themselves, without using Word at all. This has the advantage that it does not require a Word license, and it has higher performance and is supported on a server. But t will usually require more effort, as well as having to go through the (usually steep) learning curve for the library.

Although there are third-party libraries, there is a free one from Microsoft called OpenXML. You can download the library (as well as a its Software Development Kit) from here.

Documentation and examples for creating a Word document using the OpenXML library can be found here.

Sunday, November 1, 2020 11:17 AM
  • I am on Mac ( Mojave). Can I do either approaches on MacOS or I need to have a Windows computer?