Help : can't login and can't register after moving the site to IIS RRS feed

• Question

• User1851116723 posted
    I tested the site in VS2005, created a user and Administrators role. Everything
    works fine in VS2005, I can login, add events,...

I copied all the web site folder to an IIS server folder, including the app_data
    folder. I can access the web site, it displays well, but I cannot login and I can't
    register a new member.

Does anyone know how to correct this? It looks like it's a database problem,
    but I'm not sure, I'm kind of new with ASP and SQLExpress mdf file.

Is it enough to just copy the app_data folder?

Thanks a lot.

Aymeric
    Thursday, January 5, 2006 6:21 AM

All replies

• User1851116723 posted
    UPDATE :
    I isolated the problem, it's a write permission on the aspnetdb.
    Failed to update database "C:\INETPUB\WWWROOT\INTRANET\APP_DATA\ASPNETDB.MDF" because the database is read-only.

I gave ASPNET the full control to the app_data, restarded IIS but I still get this error.

Anyone could help me please?
    Friday, January 6, 2006 5:39 AM
  • User-1732934972 posted

I am having the exact same issue, so I am bumping this thread back to the top. If anyone knows, please help. :)

Thanks!

Tuesday, February 7, 2006 8:29 PM
  • User-1732934972 posted

OK, I found it. I'm in XP Pro in a workgroup environment (not a domain).

Must turn off simple file sharing and give directory permissions to ASPNET, IUSR_, and IWAM_ (and maybe NETWORK SERVICE) users.

Open windows explorer, Tools -> folder options -> View tab

Go to bottom option and uncheck Use simple file sharing.

Then go to the directory that contains your web site, right click -> Sharing and Security.

Add the users listed above and give read/write pirvs.

BINGO.

I hope this helps someone! Good Luck.

Wednesday, February 8, 2006 8:23 PM
  • User1008851990 posted