beginners programming in VC++ RRS feed

• Question

• hi all,

Good day. I am very new to Visual Studio VC++. i have good working knowledge in C & also having average  knowledge in C++. Now i entered into Visual Studio 2005 VC++. And i referring the "IVOR HORTON's beginning visual c++ 2005".  can you please suggest me to start programming with VC++ and interfacing with hardware like serial port  USB communication with printer, communication with board.. 

Any suggestions or ideas would be extremely helpful!

Thanks & Regards

Sasi

• Edited by kvg sasi Monday, January 12, 2015 10:58 AM
    Monday, January 12, 2015 10:55 AM

Answers

• Thanks david. Visual C++ is a tool and in that C++ is used to program. Am i correct.   

Yes. essentially.

Visual C++ is an application

C++ is a programming language

Many people believe (or have been led to believe) that Visual C++ is "Microsoft C++" by which they really mean C++/CLI, and that Visual C++ does not support standard C++. This is not the case: Visual C++ contains compilers for C, standard C++ and C++/CLI. These are three different (though related) programming languages.

David Wilkinson | Visual C++ MVP

• Proposed as answer by Pintu Shukla Tuesday, January 13, 2015 3:53 PM
    • Marked as answer by Shu 2017 Tuesday, January 20, 2015 1:45 AM
    Monday, January 12, 2015 2:19 PM

All replies

• hi all,

Good day. I am very new to Visual Studio VC++. i have good working knowledge in C & also having average  knowledge in C++. Now i entered into Visual Studio 2005 VC++. And i referring the "IVOR HORTON's beginning visual c++ 2005".  can you please suggest me to start programming with VC++ and interfacing with hardware like serial port  USB communication with printer, communication with board.. 

Any suggestions or ideas would be extremely helpful!

Thanks & Regards

Sasi