none
Improve Function RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I have been tasked to improve the below function - but i cannot find out what improvements can be made i.e. does anyone see any potential issues with the below:

public int test(int CharV)

int Numb1 = 0;  int Numb2 = 1;  int Numb3 = 2;
    while (CharV > Numb1)  
    {   
    Numb2 = CharV * Numb2;   
    CharV -= 1;  
    }  
    return Numb2;
    }

Monday, August 27, 2018 11:29 PM

All replies

• Hi all,

I am new to C# and been given this task, could anyone help me:

What does this function do and what improvements would you make to it?

int Numb1 = 0;  int Numb2 = 1;  int Numb3 = 2;
    while (CharV > Numb1)  
    {   
    Numb2 = CharV * Numb2;   
    CharV -= 1;  
    }  
    return Numb2;
    }

Monday, August 27, 2018 12:13 AM
  • Direct answer will not be given to homework questions.

Add a Console.WriteLine() to dump the value of Numb2 and CharV before the "CharV -= 1; " line and you should be able to realize its purpose. (Hint: This roughly performs the same task as a button on scientific calculator)

As for what kind of improvement can do, I'll advise you to revisit what kind of iteration statements does C# support.

Also, beware negative CharV value can create infinate loop here. So you'd probably add some code to guard against this condition.
    Monday, August 27, 2018 1:41 AM
    Answerer
  • Hi,

It is a method used to calculate Num2 and return it.

Could you provide more details about what improvements you want to doing for?

Best Regards,

Wendy

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

Monday, August 27, 2018 5:11 AM
  • Ok, if I set CharV to 4 what would be the return value be of my function?