none
InvalidOperationException while inserting into database RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

I'm new to LINQ to SQL but it's really awesome, so I tried to insert some data into my SQL databse. Here's the scenario:

I have a database called "WebShopDB" with a table named "dbo.webshop_customer". In C# I create a new Customer object and want to insert it into the database via LINQ. The problem is, that there is a "InvalidOperationException" at the code line "customers.InsertOnSubmit(customer);" in LINQtoSQL.cs.

I don't know why, can anybody help me out?

My dbo.webshop_customer table is as follows: email, password, firstname, lastname, street, zip, city, telephone, id

So here is my Customer-class:

[Table(Name="dbo.webshop_customer")]
      public class Customer
      {

private int id;
        private MailAddress email;
        private string password;
        private string firstName;
        private string familyName;
        private Address address;
        private TelephoneNumber telephoneNumber;

public Customer() { }

public Customer(int id,
                  MailAddress email,
                  string password,
                  string firstName,
                  string familyName,
                  Address adress,
                  TelephoneNumber telephoneNumber)
        {
          this.id = id;
          this.email = email;
          this.password = password;
          this.firstName = firstName;
          this.familyName = familyName;
          this.address = adress;
          this.telephoneNumber = telephoneNumber;
        }

[Column(IsPrimaryKey = true)]
        public int Id
        {
          get
          {
            return id;
          }
        }

[Column(Name = "email")]
        public MailAddress Email
        {
          get
          {
            return email;
          }
        }

[Column(Name = "password")]
        public string Password
        {
          get
          {
            return password;
          }
        }