none
Azure Stack Operational Standards and Tooling

Question

• Hi All,

I hope to start a bit of a discussion as a community on this. First off I'm very new to Microsoft so don't have a deep knowledge of Azure and certainly not Azure Stack. However, I have been involved in delivering an OpenStack cloud and have some preconceptions about what works well and what doesn't, which will help me deliver a valuable platform to our customers. Finally I should point out we are delivering Azure Stack as a service provider which may change the context.

The challenge I am facing and would like to discuss is one of operational standards and tooling. As we build out our Azure Stack we need to ensure consistency. Consistency is imperative for reliability and fast innovation, we need it to; quickly build development environments for testing, ensure all regions will give a consistent experience to customers, to drive predicable outcomes between environments and finally to deliver consistency via automation to speed up our delivery.

With Azure Stack I see we are in a fortunate position that a lot of the above has been taken care of by the Azure Stack platform itself, from deployment to upgrades etc. However, as an operator we still need to manage the logical configuration of the platform; backups, tenancy setup with offers, plans and quotas, marketplace syndication features like SQL databases and potentially automate healing tasks across the infrastructure.