locked
How to deploy an updated workflow created in SharePoint designer RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi,

    I'm working with MOSS 2007. I created a workflow in sharepoint designer and moved it to production. However, I need to update the workflow by changing some data strings in the workflows. If I update the workflow in sharepoint designer will the workflows currently in progress be affected in anyway (updated as well or experience some kind of error)?

    Or should I create a new workflow based on the existing workflow and stop the old instance and add the new one? This seems like a lot of work for the size of the changes to the workflow. However, I want to avoid experiencing any issues with the workflows currently running if I update the workflow in SharePoint designer.

    Your help will be appreicated

    Cheers

     

    Thursday, February 10, 2011 3:22 PM

Answers

  • It won't affect the workflows currently running.  When you click "Finish" in the workflow designer it will still store the older version with a timestamp on it, and it will set it to "no new instances" so that any that are currently running may finish running.  The newest version will be marked as allowed to run new instances.  Sometimes however it will chang the name of your new workflow to    Workflow (2)   - the only time this bugs me is if I have the workflow column shown in the default view so that users can see that it completed - because then you have 2 columns for the workflow:  Workflow column would show the old ones as completed and Workflow (2) will show the new ones. 
    • Marked as answer by BlakeToy Thursday, February 10, 2011 10:05 PM
    Thursday, February 10, 2011 4:52 PM