Call client method from server hub does not work RRS feed

• Question

• User-1708450884 posted

Hi there

I am new to SignalR and tried something that does not work. I am using Visual Studio 2019, Asp.Net MVC 5 and .Net framework 4.7.2. The scripts for SignalR are in version 2.4.1. and the jquery scripts in 1.6.4. I established a connection to an external hub, that worked. I also tried the chat example methods from Asp.Net, these methods also work. But then I tried to call my client method from the server without calling a server method myself before. And that does not work. Let me show you what I mean:

Here is my client side: 

$(function () {
                var hubconn = $.hubConnection('http://localhost:9002/signalr');
                var notiProxy = hubconn.createHubProxy('CoreHub');
                notiProxy.on('broadcastMessage', (name, connectionid, message) => {
                    console.log('Invocation of client method broadcastMessage in CoreHub succeeded');
            //        // Html encode display name and message.
                    var encodedName = $('<div />').text(name).html();
                    var encodedID = $('<div />').text(connectionid).html();
                    var encodedMsg = $('<div />').text(message).html();
                    // Add the message to the page.
                    $('#discussion').append('<li><strong>' + encodedName
                        + '</strong>:&nbsp;&nbsp;' + encodedID + '</strong>:&nbsp;&nbsp;' + encodedMsg + '</li>');
                });
                // Set initial focus to message input box.
                $('#message').focus();
                // Start the connection.
                hubconn.start().done(function () {
                    $('#sendmessage').click(function () {
                        // Call the Send method on the hub.
                        notiProxy.invoke('Send', $('#displayname').val(), $('#message').val()).done(function () {