Form - control ghosting RRS feed

• Question

• Hey

I have set my form to DoubleBuffer & also added MyForm.SuspendLayout but i still get thisghosted look before all of the controls are fully loaded. How can i resolve this? its looks ugly when loading

Thanks

Im a self taught VB.Net guy who writes code for Autodesk Inventor. I may not know the terminology but i try so please be patient. Im not a kid so please dont treat me like one :)

Thursday, June 11, 2020 1:32 AM

All replies

• Hi

I don't get that any time.

It *may* be connected with processor busy type of thing - do you do any Sub or Function calls in the Load or Shown event handlers, or, any longish calculations during the Load?

Suggestion: comment out anything not connected with Control property setting in the Load/Shgown event handlers and try to run to see if that works OK.

Regards Les, Livingston, Scotland

Thursday, June 11, 2020 12:03 PM
  • This can happen when an operation is busy and provides no time for the user interface to paint. One way around this is to wrap the code stealing time into a Task. To see an example that in this case loads data from a database see the following code sample were in form shown (better to use than form load) DataOperations.ReadCustomers has a Task.

https://github.com/karenpayneoregon/async-basics-vb/tree/master/SqlServerSimpleAsync

Code which is called from Form shown.

The above happens to use async methods in the .NET Framework while the following does not, its a do nothing method but if you put code after the green box then that will run async and note the IsCancellationRequest which allows the user to cancel

https://github.com/karenpayneoregon/async-basics-vb/tree/master/AsynchronousCancellationTokenSample

If you try any of this and run into a cross thread issue I have this extension method. Example where args is from another thread.

Private Sub FileOperations_OnMonitor(ByVal args As MonitorArgs)
    	listBox1.InvokeIfRequired(Sub(lb)