Why can't a child record row layout automatically create a new child like a child grid layout? RRS feed

• Question

• Why doesn't a row layout permit data entry like a grid layout without requiring a command bar and the + change delete icons?

I'm new to LightSwitch, but am surprised at this anomoly.  Hopefully, I'm just overlooking something. 

I have a two tables;

Parent table is Person

Child table is Address

There is a 1:m relationship between parent and child

I created a Lightswitch List-Details screen which contains the following

1.  A list of PERSONS

2.  A row layout of selected PERSON details

3.  A grid layout of ADDRESS details for selected PERSON

When I click on + in the list column,

I can enter information for a new person AND AT THE SAME TIME enter information into the grid of address information WITHOUT clicking the + at the top of the address grid.

Recognizing, that most people have just one address, I am trying to change this display as follows:

1.  List of PERSONS

2.   Row layout of selected PERSON details

3.   ROW layout of ADDRESS details for the selected person.

My plan is to put a button called MORE on the ADDRESS row layout, that when clicked, would display multiple address in grid on a modal screen.

This is similar to the approach approach is used by SAP to minimize screen clutter.

i have attached two screen shots

1.  My screen definition

2.  My screen form -- Note that in a grid layout, I can enter address details but in a row layout I can not.  The row text boxes are all grayed out and not ready for data entry.

I am trying to avoid creating separate tabs for addresses, emails address, etc. where these all have a 1:m relationship to a parent PERSON.

Thanks,

Bob McGaffic

Friday, September 7, 2012 1:03 PM

Answers

• It seems not to be textbox but textblock in your row layout:

Please refer to the image below:

Please directly drag the Selected Item to the Screen.

Hope helpful.