none
Newbie needs help. RRS feed

• Question

• Just a very basic question that I need help with. Im only learning now to use access so my knowledge is very basic. Im using Access 2013 and I want to attach one line of vba code to a button. I already have that button set to save a record to a table and all I want it to do is to also set a value into a text box. I have tried to use the code builder but that only seemed to replace the save event. I also tried attaching the code through the run code function but that didnt work either. Any help would be great appreciated. Thanks. 
    Friday, February 19, 2016 9:22 PM

Answers

• Hi Colmanite,
    The best way to keep track of when a record is added to a table is to create a Date/Time field in the table and give it the Default Value of Now().  If you only want to save the date without the time set the Default Value to Date().

If this post answered or helped you find the answer to your question, please mark it as such for other Forum users knowledge.

• Marked as answer by Colmanite Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:30 PM
    Friday, February 19, 2016 11:56 PM

All replies

• Post the code you now have that works.

Build a little, test a little

Friday, February 19, 2016 9:41 PM
  • Hey Colmanite,

Typically when you use an event you can do many things one right after the other as long as you keep the code between the Private Sub...Click() and the End Sub. As an example the below code on a Command Button can be used to set the properties on the Form so that only new records can be added. First it is calling a Function used to allow the user to review changes before storing them in the database. Then the next four set the properties, followed by a Requery of the Form to make sure you see the latest data in the Table, finally setting the focus on a specific control in the Form. Simple or low overhead items can be compact like this

Private Sub cmdAddNewRecord_Click()
        If AP_Save() Then
            Me.DataEntry = True