Need help. Im new ;-) RRS feed

• Question

• Please correct me if im in the wrong place.

Anyways im new to c# and i like it alot. Ive added what i want etc but here is my problem.   I have one of them ToolStrip menu bars at the top (the blue ones with ability to do drop down)

Now what do i do so that when a person clicks on one of the menu things it opens another part of the app but not in a new window.   Just so the current window changes to whatever  they clicked on.

Sorry if thats confusing. Let me know and il try to make it clearer.

Thanks

Dan

Monday, December 18, 2006 2:36 AM

Answers

• Not sure if this would work for you, but, from your picture I assume you wanted this:

[code]

using System;

using System.Collections.Generic;

using System.ComponentModel;

using System.Data;

using System.Drawing;

using System.Text;

using System.Windows.Forms;

namespace WindowsApplication1

{

public partial class Form1 : Form

{

public Form1()

{

InitializeComponent();

}

private void toolStripMenuItem1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)

{

Loadsettings();

}

private void Loadsettings()

{

label1.Visible = true;

label1.Text = ("This is where your info could go for your settings.");

}

}

}

[/code]

Obviously I had the label1 setting Visible set to false initially so it would not be seen. Then, when the settings menu item is clicked label1.Visible sets to true and shows whatever info.

Hope that helps some, or at least points you in the right direction.

Shawn

Tuesday, December 19, 2006 3:13 PM
  • Hello All.

killerbambam:

If I understand you correctly, what you want is for your main form to stay put, with its menu, and simply have the client area of that form switch to whatever content is applicable to the user's menu choice.