How do I build my own XAML Object?

Question

• I am at an impasse with my current development. While I am a very experienced developer, I am having a great deal of trouble acclimating to Windows 8. I actually have two questions (one general) and one specific ... but I will ask the general question on another thread (question: Can I develop for windows 8 using C# and .NET, but NOT through the windows store? Personally, I find the Windows 8 Store App technology to be very limiting and not very useful. It is still a target of ours, but would prefer the ability to make quick and dirty applications that do not have to go through the Store and be limited by the Store App framework constraints).

My main question is, How do you build your own XAML object? Our current problem lies in the use of Radio Buttons. Our client has a great deal of Pass/Fail, Yes/No checks that must be made. However, I cannot bind to the radio buttons (as a group), as they no longer have the concept of a RadioButtonList which took a single value and applied it to the group. Instead, each Radio Button is individually considered.

I have attempted to use the Radio Buttons inside of a ListBox control, but I run into two problems: 1. The value of the selected RadioButton does not appear to bubble up to the ListBox control;  2. I cannot force the display of the ListBox control to be in a Horizontal Orientation. It looks as though you can do that in Silverlight and WPF, but apparently not in the Store App Framework (that I have found).

My Code is as follows (if you see any misspellings or missing notations, please ignore them as it is me not transcribing the code properly. I assure you the below code as I have it compiles and displays and interacts, it simply does not provide me with the selected radio button, nor can I get it to display the radio buttons in a horizontal fashion):

<StackPanel Margin="70,445,0,0" HorizontalAlignment="Left" VerticalAlignment="Top" Orientation="Horizontal" Width="120">