none
deploy outlook addin for 2007,2010 on vista,xp,win7 - need help RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I created an outlook addin earlier just for 2007 but now it is also targeting outlook 2010 and will be run on vista, xp and win7 systems, Unfortunately the installer of the addin is created by some other person which is not now being in contact.

well I studied at net different articles , forums for deployment including following

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc563937.aspx

and http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb821233.aspx

but I'm in a bit confusion and resolve the following issues, I'm facing.

the solution through which I prepare installer has 4 projects.

1) ABCAddin [the addin project for outlook)

2) XYZService [this is the  class library project which communicates with the javascript present on html template showing data by some xml in outlook explorer and executes some outlook based function ]

3) ABCInstallerHelper: this is the project which does some custom actions before installing addin and removing addin like creating directories etc.

4) ABCInstaller : this is the Setup project (I believe) as its output contains two files and one folder ( ABCInstaller.msi, setup.exe and folder Office2007PIARedist ),

so for installing this Addin I always copy the above files and run setup which installs the project. I know quite well now how to set registry of vsto, I always first publish the project after build ABCAddin  so that, its vsto files, dll etc get obtained , before build the actual installer.

but now one thing happening, which we don't want to ...and also please note that so far, we didn't sign the code and application , so still the application is untrusted so in UAC we always get asked.