none
Can't connect to Sql Azure Server from local Management Studio

Question

• 1. I'm a total newbie. (Just setup my first Windows Azure, Sql Azure Server from my home system tonight). I'm surely doing something dumb.

2. When I setup the server I was asked for  "Firewall Rules". It told me my current IP address and, right or wrong, I used that as the IP range Start and End. That address is not the same address shown when I type IPCONFIG in a DOS box on my local machine.

3. From the Management Portal I was able to setup a table in the database.

4. When I started Management Studio from my local box, typed the

Server name "myServername.database.windows.net", used the SQL Admin user and

password for the server, then tried to connect, I got the famous "Can't connect to..... A network-related or instance-specific error occurrred while establishing....."

Question: Any ideas why I can't connect to the Sql Azure server?  Or how to diagnose the problem? (e.g. I can't ping the SQL Azure server name from my local box. Don't know if I am suposed to be able to)

TIA,

Barkingdog

Tuesday, February 14, 2012 6:15 AM

Answers

• You should see something like this:

And regarding, security risks: The rule of thumb is that more ports you open - the less secure you are. I personally have not researched the security risks of opening 1433 - so may be someone else could answer that..

btw, i found this article : Securing your network with firewalls and ports that should get you started and if you have further questions, you could also consider asking that on security forum - becasue those guys obviously know a lot more about that domain.

Paras Doshi (Blog: ParasDoshi.com | Twitter: @Paras_Doshi )

• Edited by Paras DoshiModerator Thursday, February 16, 2012 12:53 AM
    • Marked as answer by edm2 Friday, February 17, 2012 6:24 AM
    Thursday, February 16, 2012 12:52 AM

All replies

• Use this resoruce:

SQL Azure Connectivity Troubleshooting Guide