none
VS 2015 Prof freezes when loading System.Windows.Controls.DomainServices.dll

Question

• I am new to VS and to C# and I'm working through the Hello example in Chapter 1 of "Microsoft Visual C# Step by Step".

After creating a new project (Blank App (Universal Windows)) I open MainPage.xaml and click on the toolbar tab .. at which point VS freezes while displaying "Adding toolbox items from assembly 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\RIA Services\v1.0\Silverlight\System.Windows.Controls.DomainServices.dll'".

When I look for this file via Explorer I find it is in:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\RIA Services\v1.0\Libraries\Silverlight
    NOT in:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\RIA Services\v1.0\Silverlight

How do I resolve this please?

Thursday, July 07, 2016 9:50 AM

Answers

• Thanks for your reply Jack.

It is working fine now.

I have a very clean system .. having just done a clean install of Win 10 Pro then added Access 2010, Office Pro 2013, SQLS Express 2014 and VS 2015 Pro.

I think the issue was just an initial VERY slow load of that dll .. literally many minutes .. several times .. but eventually it suddenly completed after I had visited Options (but changed nothing) and then retried.

So now all the controls are there just waiting to go each time I start up.

• Marked as answer by JezPerth Friday, July 08, 2016 9:35 AM
    Friday, July 08, 2016 9:35 AM

All replies

• Several times I followed the same steps above with the exact same result (closing VS between tries).

On the last attempt it successfully loaded the dll .. but I have no idea why .. did it just need longer than one would consider "normal"?

Thursday, July 07, 2016 10:09 AM
  • Hi JezPerth,

>>On the last attempt it successfully loaded the dll .. but I have no idea why .. did it just need longer than one would consider "normal"?

Just to make this issue clearly, does it work well now?