none
Regarding data manipulation in asp.net using vb RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am new to asp.net programming and i am designing a website for HR of my company in asp.net using vb. I have written a code for saving the form values into the database but i am not able to retrieve the database values for modifying the data and saving back those values into the database.

Actually my requirement is if a user selects a name in the drop down list all the respective fields for that particular employee should me made editable and if the user changes some values then the form should ask for a confirmation message for saving the values and those values should be updated into the database.

My code for form editing goes here:

Dim DBConn As New Data.SqlClient.SqlConnection("Data Source=.\sqlexpress;Initial Catalog=HRDATA;Integrated Security=True")
            'Dim DBCmd As New Data.SqlClient.SqlCommand
            Dim DBAdap As New Data.SqlClient.SqlDataAdapter
            Dim DS As New Data.DataSet
            DBConn.Open()
            Dim DBCmd As New Data.SqlClient.SqlCommand("Select Designation,ContactNumber,EmergencyContact,OfficeNumber,Email,PersonalEmail,Dob,Doj,Address,BankName,Branch,AccountNumber,Salary from Employeedata Where ID = 1 ", DBConn)
            Dim dataReader As Data.SqlClient.SqlDataReader
            dataReader = DBCmd.ExecuteReader()
            If (dataReader.Read()) Then
                txtdesig.Text = dataReader("Designation").ToString()
                txtcnum.Text = dataReader("ContactNumber").ToString()
                txtemercont.Text = dataReader("EmergencyContact").ToString()
                txtofficenum.Text = dataReader("OfficeNumber").ToString()
                txtemailid.Text = dataReader("Email").ToString()
                txtpid.Text = dataReader("PersonalEmail").ToString()
                txt_dob.Text = dataReader("Dob").ToString()
                txtdoj.Text = dataReader("Doj").ToString()