none
PCI DSS vulnerability scans RRS feed

• Question

• Our Azure hosted application need to go through a PCI DSS vulnerability scan and I am not finding much information on whether there are any complications in an Azure environment. We are looking to attain level 3 compliance, possibly level 2.

Since the vulnerability scan may look like an attack on our application and Azure in general I am wondering if the Windows Azure infrastructure poses any problem or complications. Can anyone speak to this issue in general and whether there is anything I need to do before hand? I'm not concerned about my application specifically I am talking about the fact that it is hosted in Azure. For example if my app were hosted on-premise I might normally inform my internal IT group about this scan before it happens so they are not surprised if alarms in their monitoring systems get triggered. Is there any similar warning I need to give Azure before hand?

Obviously I am a newbie in this PCI DSS space so forgive me if I am not asking the right questions. I am open to any other general feedback you might have on this topic.

Thursday, January 6, 2011 9:44 PM

Answers

• Hi,

There are no requirements to notify Microsoft if you are doing vulnerability testing within Windows Azure and you shouldn't encounter any issues with the Azure platform.  The only things to be aware of is if the vulnerability testing stresses your site to the point that your number of role instances is insufficient to keep up with the traffic, or if you are accessing another resource such as Blob storage or SQL Azure that may be throttled due to too much traffic.  But as long as your code is setup to retry after throttles then there should be no problem.

Please note however that the Azure platform itself is not a PCI Validated Service Provider.  This may or may not affect your application's compliance, but is something you should be aware of.

bill boyce
    Friday, January 7, 2011 8:52 PM

All replies