How to bind a command in ItemsControl DataTemplate defined in a templated control RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm writing a template control for my app. In the control template I have an ItemsControl and its ItemsSource is bound to an Items dependency property defined in the templated control.

Inside the DataTemplate of the ItemsControl I have a button and I would like to attach to the Click event or bind a command defined in the templated control.

<Style TargetType="local:TestCustomControl">
            <Setter Property="Template">
                <Setter.Value>
                    <ControlTemplate TargetType="local:TestCustomControl">
                        <Border Background="{TemplateBinding Background}" BorderBrush="{TemplateBinding BorderBrush}" BorderThickness="{TemplateBinding BorderThickness}">
                            <ItemsControl ItemsSource="{TemplateBinding Items}">
                                <ItemsControl.ItemTemplate>
                                    <DataTemplate>
                                        <!-- How to attach to click event or bind a to a templated control command? -->
                                        <Button Content="{Binding Text}" />
                                    </DataTemplate>                                
                                </ItemsControl.ItemTemplate>
                            </ItemsControl>
                        </Border>
                    </ControlTemplate>
                </Setter.Value>
            </Setter>
        </Style>

How can I do this?

Sunday, January 12, 2014 5:14 AM

Answers

• Yes it works now, but I think it's only a workaround.

I think the best solution is to
     define commands at control level instead of having commands for each itemscontrol item and then bind them with AncestorType and AncestorLevel RelativeSource binding (like Silverlight 5). Unfortunately we don't have this feature right now in Windows Store apps.