Query to find all points within a polygon RRS feed

• Question

• I am very new to the spatial data, and I have been spending quite a bit of time playing with the different aspects of it.  One thing that I am not quite sure how to do is this:

I have one table filled with points (lat,lon, and another table filled with polygons.
    I want to grab a specific polygon and query for all points that fall within that polygon.  I am not quite sure how I would formulate the query to do this.  Any help is greatly appreciated.
    Wednesday, March 11, 2009 3:54 AM

Answers

• Hi there,

So, assuming your data looks something like this:
    declare @polygons table
      name varchar(32), 
      shape geometry 
    insert into @polygons values 
    ('square', geometry::STGeomFromText('POLYGON((0 0, 4 0, 4 4, 0 4, 0 0))', 0)), 
    ('triangle', geometry::STGeomFromText('POLYGON((3 1, 7 1, 5 4, 3 1))', 0)), 
    ('circle', geometry::STGeomFromText('POINT(4 4)',0).STBuffer(2)) 

declare @points table
      id int identity(1,1), 
      position geometry 
    insert into @points values 
    (geometry::Point(1,1,0)), 
    (geometry::Point(2,3,0)), 
    (geometry::Point(5,4,0)), 
    (geometry::Point(4,2,0)) 

So,
    select shape from @polygons  
    union all select position from @points 

looks a bit like this:

To select just those points that are contained within the square, you can do:
    SELECT * FROM @points 
    WHERE position.STWithin((SELECT shape FROM @polygons WHERE name='square'))=1 

Beginning Spatial with SQL Server http://www.apress.com/book/view/1430218290
    • Marked as answer by Cstolworthy Thursday, March 12, 2009 2:16 PM
    Wednesday, March 11, 2009 8:26 AM
    Answerer

All replies

• Hi there,

So, assuming your data looks something like this:
    declare @polygons table
      name varchar(32), 
      shape geometry 
    insert into @polygons values 
    ('square', geometry::STGeomFromText('POLYGON((0 0, 4 0, 4 4, 0 4, 0 0))', 0)),