none
Transfer Data from Local Access Table to Linked SQL Server Table RRS feed

• Question

• I would like to find an efficient solution to moving data from a local Access table into a Linked SQL Server table.  Running a simple Append through Access has proven to be a terrible solution, with a 10+ minute run time for about 200,000 records.  

I am looking into creating a stored procedure that will take in the local Access table as a table valued parameter, then insert all of those records into the SQL table.  I have created the following stored proc:

CREATE TYPE MOR.RMAZATableType AS TABLE (
    	PostingDate smalldatetime,
    	RMA varchar(12));
    go

CREATE PROCEDURE MOR.USP_InsertRMAData
    	@TVP RMAZATableType READONLY
    	AS

Set NOCOUNT ON
    Insert Into mor.tblRMAZA (PostingDate,RMA)
    SELECT * FROM @TVP
    Return;
    Go

I am fairly new to SQL Server, so I believe there is probably an error in the above.  

I then attempt to pass the matching recordset via stored procedure call in Access:

Sub USP_InsertTest(rst As Recordset)
      Dim conn As New ADODB.Connection, cmd As New ADODB.Command
      Set conn = OpenSQLConnection
      Set cmd = OpenStoredProc("MOR.usp_InsertRMAData", conn)
      cmd("@TVP") = rst     <----------------------
      cmd.Execute
      Set cmd = Nothing
      CloseSQLConnection conn
    End Sub

I get an error here (cmd("@TVP") = rst).  "Arguments are of the wrong type, are out of acceptable range, or are in conflict with one another."

Please help!!

I am using SSMS 2012 and MS Access 2010.

Monday, July 13, 2015 8:16 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Base on the error message, it means the RecordSet is out of acceptable range, in my opinion, we can’t access the recordset object on the stored procedure.

For this requirement, I suggest that the simple way is that you could use SQL Server import and export wizard to import data to the SQL Server database.

# Run the SQL Server Import and Export Wizard