none
How to parse a very large log (1.7GB) using multithread. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi!

Im trying to parse a large file and split it in other txt files. But it is taking too long, so I decided to implement it using multithread, like 4 threads each one parsing 1/4 of the original log and writing the results in the new file. But I dont have any idea how to do it, Im a c# beginner, any help?

Thanks!

Monday, January 17, 2011 8:57 PM

Answers

• Read the file with your main thread only and spawn new threads to process each part. The main thread continues reading while other threads process the file's contents. No problem of concurrent disk access.

One thread should be sufficient.  Using async read and write, the time to parse and split should be insignificant.  The only way to speed up this process is to read and write to different disks or do it twice.  The second time will be much faster than the first due to caching.
    • Proposed as answer by Paul Zhou Monday, January 24, 2011 5:07 AM
    • Marked as answer by Paul Zhou Tuesday, January 25, 2011 1:29 AM
    Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:24 AM

All replies

• You can use memory mapped files for txt files operations

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd997372.aspx

And you can use Parallel Programming Pattern to do multithread

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd537609.aspx

This is the best way for you want

Monday, January 17, 2011 9:02 PM
  • It won't take any less time.  Actually, it will take longer because the threads will be competing for time to read the file and the disk head will constantly be searching for a different location on the drive.  Save time by writing the new file on a different drive.
    Tuesday, January 18, 2011 4:32 AM
  • Read the file with your main thread only and spawn new threads to process each part. The main thread continues reading while other threads process the file's contents. No problem of concurrent disk access.

Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:14 AM