Inserting records in table with many-to-many relationship RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to the Entity Framework so please bear with me..............

I have the following tables in my database:

Programs
    ElectricConservationProgram
    ProgramEndUseTargets
    EndUseTargets

The Programs table has a primary key of ProgramId and Year.  The ElectricConservationProgram table has a primary key that is made up entirely of of foreign keys to the Programs table columns ProgramId and Year.  The EndUseTargets table has a single column EndUseTargetName that is the primary key.  The ProgramEndUseTargets table is a link table between ElectricConservationProgram and EndUseTargets.  Its key is made up entirely of foreign keys from ElectricConservationProgram and EndUseTargets.  Those foreign keys are ProgramId and Year from the ElectricConservationProgram table and EndUseTargetName from EndUseTargets table.

When I use the EDM to design a model from the database, the link table ProgramEndUseTargets is completely eliminated in the model and is represented by an association between ElectricConservationProgram table and EndUseTarget table.  With this model, I don't know how to insert records into the link table using C# code because the link table is represented entirely by an association.

I have limited ability to change the table design of the database.  It is not my design and already has much data so suggestions to change the table design to help work with Entity Framework are not going to be helpful.  Can someone please suggest how I can insert into the ProgramEndUseTargets table using C# code?

If it is helpful, I can provide the edmx file.

Thursday, July 15, 2010 1:36 PM

Answers

• Hi mcgjr,

Welcome to EF forum!