none
Changing formatting while attaching the template RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

This is Gururajan. I am a word developer. The below is my query.

When i attach a word template in Word 2010, some paragraph styles and formatting in the word document get changed. I could not able to find a exact solution. Can anyone provide a solution for this issue? I have attached the screen-shots for your review.

Thanks in Advance,

Gururajan

Wednesday, March 4, 2015 1:38 PM

All replies

• Open the document.

On the Developer tab of the ribbon, in the Templates group, click Document Template.

Make sure that the check box "Automatically update document styles" is clear (not ticked).

Click OK.

Now styles should not change when you attach a different template to the document.

Regards, Hans Vogelaar (http://www.eileenslounge.com)

Wednesday, March 4, 2015 3:16 PM
  • Hi,

I tried the above solution before, but i want the paragraph and character styles to be applied on the document. When the check box (Automatically update document styles) is clear, the styles (character and paragraph) do not apply on the document. I have to apply the styles on the document that are occurred in the attached template and the same time the formatting should not be changed. It would be more helpful if you could provide a solution for this.

Thanks in Advance,

Gururajan

Gururajan

Thursday, March 5, 2015 7:06 AM
  • Styles ARE formatting, so your requirements are contradictory.

Thursday, March 5, 2015 2:49 PM
  • Hi,

Actually i had loaded all the paragraph and character styles in a template, because the loaded styles to be applied in the document. When the check box is clear, the styles do not apply in the document. So when you just attach the template, the formatting (bold or italic) gets changed in some paragraphs. Some of the paragraphs also appear in list format that i mentioned in the screenshot. I hope this is clear with you. Kindly provide a solution for this.

Thanks in Advance,