How to use WADL file as a web service? RRS feed

• Question

• User-1931873947 posted

Hi everybody,

I need to add a webservice from a third party service to my own website. To use the services of that company I have just a url that shows me the WADL xml file of their service so I don't have any other resource of their webservices that I can use their defined classes in my website. I am really new in this and I need to learn How can I connect to their services just according to that WADL file step by step?

Monday, March 11, 2013 10:49 AM

All replies

• User220959680 posted

WADL

It is WSDL (Web Services Description Language) file that describes the functionality offered by the web service.

In order to consume the service below are the steps:-

1. Add Service reference to your web application using Visual Studio:- Adding service reference creates the proxy class(Service contract).

2. Create an instance of service client

3. consume service methods.

Refer consuming the service part of this article http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/42643/Creating-and-Consuming-Your-First-WCF-Service 

//Example:

//1. Add the namespace.  myWebApplication is application name and DataService is the service reference name //given while adding the service reference.
    using myWebApplication.DataService;

//2. Create an instance of service proxy (Contract)
    DataServiceClient client = new DataServiceClient();

//3. Consume service methods
    Client.Open();
    Client.GetData();

Client.Close();

Monday, March 11, 2013 11:14 AM
  • User-1931873947 posted

Hi sukumarraju,

Thanks alot for your response, But it is WADL(Web Application Description Language) file not a WSDL file. If it was a WSDL it was ok for me but now the peroblem is I don't know how I have to use this WADL file to connect to the resource webservice.

Monday, March 11, 2013 11:31 AM
  • User-1662538993 posted

You can use Wadl.exe to create a proxy class from wadl file.

Please check this link -