SQLEx 2K8: Cannot setup a new registered server RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am a bit of a newbie to MSSQL so please bare with me. I have installed MSQL Express 2008 with advanced tools on my Win2k3 server so that I can play about with my visual studio. The software on the server such as the backup software and antivirus have added their own servers/databases into the SQL server instance.

I would like to create a new registered server and place my databases under that, however each time I create a new registered server I get no option to turn it on, set it up or even create databases.

This may well be because you can't do this in express or it may be because I am doing something wrong.

1. I open the server management studio but do not log into the existing database servers (anti-virus, backup).
    2. I open up the registered servers tab and under local server groups I create a new registered server.
    3. I give it a name like "server\mydatabase".
    4. The list is updated with my new registered server but I am unable to do anything with it, the service icon is a white circle with no options to start/stop services.

Any help would be great cheers!
    Thanks, Cep
    Friday, June 5, 2009 10:15 AM

Answers

• Hi Cep,

Have you actually installed an instance of SQL Server named myNewDB? (It doesn't read like you have.) If you just type in some random name and click OK, it will show up in the list, but it's not attached to anything, so there is nothing to start. I think you're confused about the purpose of the registered servers pane.

Just connect to the SQLEXPRESS instance from the Object Explorer and you will be able to create as many databases as you like. If you really want another server, you'll need to install another copy of SQL Express before you can use it, but then you'll have two full copies of SQL Express running and taking up memory on your computer, which I don't believe is your intention.

Regards,
    Mike