none
How can I wire loaded (or cached) related entities together? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

I am a newbie to this LINQ to SQL and I have a requirement to solve but I don't know how. I created 2 entities named Account and Contact. A Contact has a foreign key to Account named AccountId. I use the New LINQ to SQL Entities Wizard to create the necessary entity classes. After the wizard, I have two classes named Account and Contact. And the Contact class has a property named Account refer to Account class. 

In my application, I have two views manipulating each entity class mentioned above. And my application has a application-defined security policy that an end-user only sees the Account or Contact that he created or was assigned by another end-user in the application. This leads to the case that user U1 creates a account named A and a contact named C referring to this account A. Then user U1 assigns the contact C to user U2. So the user U2 can see the contact C but cannot see the account A. The code I use to load accounts and contacts like following:

if (CanShowAllAccounts)

LoadAllAccounts();

else

LoadAccountsByOwner(CurrentIdentityName);

if (CanShowAllContacts)

LoadAllContacts();

else

LoadContactsByOwner(CurrentIdentityName);

After this line of code, I set a breakpoint and I get the result that the Account property of all the Contacts (that is generated by the LINQ to SQL wizard) always is null. I turned off the DeferredLoadingEnabled of the DataContext because of the security policy mentioned above. So how can I solve this case? In the document of Microsoft, LINQ to SQL is said to be able to track object changes and identities. But I cannot understand why even if I load all the accounts (by calling my LoadAllAccounts), the Account property of the Contact object is still not set to the loaded entity. Or the LINQ does not support it? Or do I have to write codes to wire those related entities together?