Best approach for achieving the below mentioned senario RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have two pages. In page1 I will be displaying list of Items which are constructed with the date that is stored permanently in JSON format. When user clicks on a particular list I want to fetch the data from JSON object and populate in another XAML page.

There will be an option to the user to update the form fields and submit(That particular object should be updated). I have following elements in the form. 

ToggleSwitch, ListPicker, TextBox and checkBox.

I have one approach i.e pass the value from one page to another in NavigationService set the values in the other page.

I am a beginner. I want to learn with best practices. If anyone worked on same lines and have a sample code for achieving this please share. 

I got struck up after passing values to the next page.

Monday, April 7, 2014 10:46 AM

Answers

• In your updateexpenses.xaml.cs you are loading the data from your storage file in OnNavigatedTo method.  At the end of that method you can set the data context for the page to the correct ExpenceData object:

if(data != null)
                    this.DataContext = data.Expences[Convert.ToInt32(selectedIndex)];

Then bind your controls to the properties on the ExpenceData object.

Bret Bentzinger (MSFT) @awehellyeah

Thursday, April 10, 2014 3:42 PM

All replies

• It sounds like your static data source is data stored somewhere in JSON Format.   You basically need the following logic flow:

1) Get data for selected item

2) Update Data

3) Save data

4) Refresh main view