DISTINCT doesn't seem to be working RRS feed

• Question

• User1580573345 posted

Hi all,

I am using SQLEXPRESS 2005 and can't figure out why my SQL query is not working.

Select DISTINCT ads.clientid, ads.ad, ads.adid, ads.cost, ads.description, ads.bold, ads.info, 
    ads.contact, ads.coupon, ads.logo, ads.map, ads.webpage, ads.weburl, tclients.clientname, 
    tclients.clientphone, tclients.addNumber, tclients.addStreet, tclients.addsuite, tclients.addcity, 
    tclients.addstate, tclients.addzip from tclients, ads where tclients.clientid=ads.clientid 
    AND  AdActive=1 ORDER BY COST DESC

I expect only one row to be returned for each ads.clientid.  However, every single record that matches the query is being returned, which results in multiple records with the same clientid.

This happens if it is ads.clientid or tclients.clientid.

Martin

Thursday, September 28, 2006 4:41 PM

Answers

• User1580573345 posted

Motley,

This SEEMS to work, but I'm not a SQL expert, so I can't be sure it will in real data.  Does it look good to you?  The bolded part is what I added.

Select DISTINCT ads.clientid, ads.ad, ads.adid, ads.cost, ads.description, ads.bold, ads.info, 
    ads.contact, ads.coupon, ads.logo, ads.map, ads.webpage, ads.weburl, tclients.clientname, 
    tclients.clientphone, tclients.addNumber, tclients.addStreet, tclients.addsuite, tclients.addcity, 
    tclients.addstate, tclients.addzip from tclients, ads where tclients.clientid=ads.clientid 
    AND  AdActive=1 
    AND cost in (select max(ads.cost) from ads group by clientid)
    ORDER BY COST DESC

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Thursday, September 28, 2006 8:19 PM

All replies

• User153155060 posted
    DISTINCT returns unique rows based on all columns in the query, not just the first column (clientid) that you've specified.
    Thursday, September 28, 2006 6:07 PM
  • User1580573345 posted

Ah - I'm glad it it working as intended and I am not going mad...