none
Microsoft Reporting vs Crystal Reports RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hi all.  I'm getting scared and frustrated with Crystal Reporting.  I've been using CR for 10+ years, but this last round of 2010 release where it didn't look like CR was going to be part of VS was worrisome to say the least.  I know, MS says it will be there, but they told me the same thing about another product and, poof, it was going.  

So, my question is:  For those of you whom have used both CR and msReporting, what are some of the pros and cons?  I read one post where it said msRpt couldn't use multiple tables.  Well, for me that seals the deal right there.  Hopefully, the post was ancient and this is no longer an issue.

Also, I played with msRpt a bit.  I am able to create a viewer and data set with a table adapter fairly easy.  But, most of my use of a reporting tool is to report error logs.  And those error logs I build in an XML file.  I typically create a data set without a table adapter and populate the dataset virtually, (not really using the xsd for anything more than formatting the report).  Yet when I tried this same method with the report viewer, it can't "see" the dataset class.  I can only assume it would be because of the lack of table adapter. 

So, can msRpts work without a table adapter for ad-hoc reporting and dataset construction, how is the speed on large data sets from sql, how does it fair under multiple groups and all that ____?

Thanks.

Greg Kowieski The World On-Line
    Saturday, May 8, 2010 7:34 PM

All replies

• I do alot of reports, most all my work is creating reports. I've been using Crystal and just switched over to MS. The reasons that sold me are smaller install package, faster speed, and built into VS, not necessarily in that order.