How do I create an faq in MS Expression 4? RRS feed

• Question

• I would like to create an faq that guides the user through various questions/options/answers based on the initial question they ask and the subsequent choices they select. I am totally new to MS Expression and whilst I'm very capable of reading the various tutorials etc that are available I would appreciate some help with the basic process involved in such a project.

Ideally if someone could just set out the steps required, from the beginning, including which tools etc to use I would be extremely grateful. I have spent the best part of a day searching the internet for solutions but as soon as you search for 'faq' or similar.............you can imagine how many irrelevant hits I have found.

many thanks in advance.

Monday, December 13, 2010 3:02 PM

All replies

• You would create it in EW the same as in any Web editor (or text editor, for that matter), using a dynamic client-side technology such as javascript, and given the interactive nature (path following) that you require, probably including AJAX. You may store the information required for the various possible paths client-side, in the downloaded page, but that would not scale well and would quickly become unwieldy as the complexity increased. So, you would probably want to use either a database back end or a downloadable XML data source, and at that point you would likely introduce server-side programming.

The thing is, this is not a trivial undertaking, and does not admit of simply setting out "the steps required, from the beginning" in a short message format forum such as this. There are entire bodies of knowledge underlying the techniques that you would use that are prerequisites to even beginning to explain the process.