locked
Workflow history data lost after backup with stsadm RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi All,

    I'm struggling with a huge problem that has been detect a couple of days ago. We use the default workflows capabilities in Sharepoint sites (mainly the Approval workflow) and it works fine. We back up our site collections with the stsadm command (e. g. stsadm -o backup -url http://mysite:12312 -filename "D:\SPS\site.bak"). However, after restoring the site (stsadm -o restore -url http://mysite:12312 -filename "D:\SPS\site.bak") all workflow history data is lost!

    As you might imagine, this is a big problem for us, as it was supposed to use it for our internal revision....

    I've got to questions:
    1) How could I restore the workflow history from DB (via SQL directly from DB)
    2) How we can avoid this type of a "problem"

    Your comments/suggestions will be highly appreciable

    Many thanks in advance.

    Nearshore

     

    • Moved by Mike Walsh FIN Wednesday, April 29, 2009 6:17 AM wf q (From:SharePoint - Setup, Upgrade, Administration and Operation)
    Wednesday, April 29, 2009 6:13 AM

Answers

  • It is maybe related to the autocleanup functionality, by default after 60 days the workflow history is cleaned-up, more details in this thread .
    Did you still have the history just before the backup ?
    Serge Luca; blog: www.redwood.be
    Wednesday, April 29, 2009 8:27 AM

All replies