consume Swagger file for an API RRS feed

• Question

• User2140666256 posted

Hi Guys,
    I just got asked to prepare to get a API up that has a swagger file to connect to the company website to connect some new
    functionality and I have never done it before and the guy that normally does stuff like that has quit and they want it up and running ASAP so I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

I have mapped up and utilized all kinds of webservices and things like that before and worked with integration of them but here I just dont know what to do.

Thanks

Monday, September 7, 2020 8:45 AM

All replies

• User475983607 posted

Are you asking for an utility that generates a C# client from a Swagger JSON file?  

https://swagger.io/tools/swagger-codegen/

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/aspnet/core/tutorials/getting-started-with-nswag?view=aspnetcore-3.1&tabs=visual-studio

Monday, September 7, 2020 10:52 AM
  • User-2117779121 posted

very well.cool

Monday, September 7, 2020 11:22 AM
  • User2140666256 posted

Yes, and I looked at the swagger-codegen but couldn't make full sense out of it...don't really understand how to use it.
    And the site is an old project that we dont work on anymore its a webforms project which will be replaced buy a
    core website next year. 

Do we need to make a web api application as a middleware or can we just integrate it directly into the webforms project?

Monday, September 7, 2020 1:28 PM
  • User-474980206 posted

its not clear if you want to call a webapi site that supports swagger or write a new webapi site that supports swagger UI.

if the first case, you download the swagger tools, and use the codegen to generate a client api for the swagger enabled website.