Identity Server Limiting what tokens can do RRS feed

• Question

• User1358036820 posted

I am new to token based auth in Identity Server at least.  Normally I work with custom token providers etc and don't really deal with things like grants and scopes etc.

I understand the purpose of Identity Server is to protect applications like my API's with token auth.  I am however a bit confused on the following.

1) Say I have  mobile App which is set up in IdSrv as a client.  The token provided is used to access the API and perform various operations.  What do I check if I don't want that token to get any user data.

2) What do I check if I do want that token to allow request for user tokens.

App 1

Standard Mobile app set up as a client and can call Api to do certain things (I know I can do this by policies etc) but I don't want that app to allow access to any user data.

Another mobile app, this one can act on behalf of user and access certain user data.

All I am looking for here is the correct terms to read about so I get a better understanding about the above scenarios.

Any advice appreciated.

Thursday, December 19, 2019 5:26 PM

Answers

• User475983607 posted

If the mobile client is a web browser then there is nothing else to do.  If your mobile client is an application that you wrote then make an HTTP request to get the access token and pass the token on successive requests.  The Identity Server documentation specifically and openly covers this scenario using a console application.  The community has no idea what you used to create the mobile app but you should be able to read the docs to figure out how to make an HTTP request.

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Saturday, January 11, 2020 5:25 PM

All replies

• User475983607 posted

ammd