none
How can I ignore if someone writes the wrong words? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi!

I'm new to programming. And my first coding tool is SmallBasic. So i need some help...

I'm making a text adeventure. Where i want the player to have a lot of space to write whatever they want. I don't want to give them options to write. So i have to write alot of lines that awnser what the player may type. But if they type something that i havent listed i just want it to stay blank. How can i do this?

TextWindow.Title = "The Key"

Start:

TextWindow.WriteLine("Welcome! You wanna start?")

x = TextWindow.Read() 

Sc1:

If x = "Yes" Or x = "yes" Or x = "y" or x = "Y" or x = "Ja" Or x = "ja" then
      TextWindow.Clear()
      TextWindow.WriteLine("You open your eyes. A dimed light is all you see. It's far away. What now?")
      Goto Sc2
      ElseIf(x = "No"or x = "no" or x = "n" or x = "N" or x = "Nei" or x = "nei") then
        TextWindow.WriteLine("Ok...")   

Elseif(x = "Mabye" or x = "mabye")Then
        TextWindow.Clear()
        Goto start
      EndIf

Sc2:

x = TextWindow.Read() 

If x = "Walk to it" Or x = "walk" Or x = "walk to it" Or x = "Walk" Or x = "run" Or x = "Run" Then
        TextWindow.Clear()
        TextWindow.WriteLine("As you come closer to the light, you feel yourself getting colder. A breeze     strokes over your left shoulder.")
      EndIf 

Thx :)

• Edited by Haaon Thursday, April 4, 2013 3:06 PM Wrong code
    Thursday, April 4, 2013 2:50 PM

Answers

• I was assuming you meant that if you didn't understand the input you would wait for input that you did understand.

So this code

1] Sets the result of user input to the empty string ""

2] Keeps checking until understood input is entered. This is the While ... EndWhile loop which keeps repeating the question until understood input is given and the variable result is set to something, when the loop ends and we have got some input that we understand.