Is it possible to spawn processes as different users? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I have taken a new job and I have a hunch that one of my first tasks will be to figure out how to develop a method of spawning processes as multiple users, like you can do with Unix (by running a program as root that will su to a user, requiring no password to be entered).

For example, Joe Schmoe runs an engineering tool that can run an analysis job remotely on a different machine as him.  Jill Schmoe does the same thing and it runs as her.  The process that runs on that remote machine will need to run as an administrator account, and have the ability to switch to both Joe and Jill, or whoever else is a valid network user.  I need to develop this and I'm thinking it's not going to be easy.

I'm new to Windows development, so I figured I'd shoot this question to you fine folks before I really start digging.  So far, Google hasn't returned much that seems helpful.  Thanks a lot in advance.

Janbur
    Monday, October 29, 2007 12:48 AM

All replies

•  

Hi

Please find the method Start on Process class at the location http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/sxf2saat.aspx

Please mark the reply as answer if helpfull.

Thanks

Regards

Gaurav

Monday, October 29, 2007 3:30 PM
  • Gaurav,