New at DD RRS feed

• Question

• User248012991 posted

Hi I'm Karla. I am a freshman at Data Dynamics. I've only seen a few videos and I use the most professional tool to develop programs

Not English so I use the Google translation

Working in a small school and I did with the database as shown in the videos and the thing seems to work well so far

I want to know how to grab the data that is on my screen in a FormView. I mean grip I have in my power every typed data on the screen in text fields, date, Boolean and combos

All I want to grab before inserting to database

You can do that?

Tuesday, August 9, 2011 11:03 AM

All replies

• User248012991 posted

Maybe you need to explain a bit what I will do:

For one example of my request I convert a numeric field in letters

That is for the system of checks should be saved as transactions both in numbers and in letters

If I have an independent variable with the value in the way I typed in the transformation could make a fairly easy because I already do with other languages.

So these routines and in another language but do not know how to do it in dynamic data

Tuesday, August 9, 2011 6:52 PM
  • User-330204900 posted

Hi Karla, if you add an event handler to the DataSource ont heInserting event you will have a collection of value you can look at e.Values. However it depends on what you want to do with the values as to whether this is the best place to do it.

P.S. do have a look at VisualStudio LightSwitch 2011 it's a much more rapid development tool for small business apps.

Wednesday, August 10, 2011 7:45 AM
  • User1043796333 posted

I'd like to know this answer too

Wednesday, August 10, 2011 10:25 AM
  • User248012991 posted

Dear Mr. Sjnaughton, present: I could not find DataSource ont heInsertingesa but if I'm right you're working with German language version and seems to refer to the insert, yes? . I'll try there