none
ECG drawing and analysing program RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, for my coursework for a level computer science, I am wanted to create a program in visual basic in which I can draw and analyse drawings of an ECG. I have no knowledge of electronics and would be very grateful for any advice you could give me on how I would acquire the values I require to draw an ECG in visual studio, whether that be with an ECG capturing device or other means - thanks.
    Monday, August 6, 2018 2:52 PM

All replies

• What have you done so far?

You will need to get the specifications from the maker of the device you will record.
    Maybe it is serial communications via usb port and you call it to get the data in readings or it constantly outputs data that you monitor and record etc. If it plugs into a usb port then its most likely serial communications. There are lots of examples from past forum questions.

You have to get that info from the device manufacturer. If you are lucky maybe they will have some code samples.  So go to the web site for the exact device.

Once you have some data you need to record it somehow in vb code and then draw the data graph.

I suggest the chart control to draw and interact with the graph.

Here are some examples. You can see the charts are drawn from simple x, y  coordinate data. One example plots saved data and one receives new data and discards the old.

https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/vstudio/en-US/e381f8b1-251c-4a32-94c6-b43f99cbb976/plotting-instantaneous-y-values-in-ms-chart?forum=vbgeneral

https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/vstudio/en-US/a3b81414-b541-4afb-83ee-655a98377629/line-chart-in-visual-basic?forum=vbgeneral

Then, assuming you get this far, what will you do with the chart? How would a doctor use it? Zoom in? Scroll? Mouse click and display and etc?