locked
Why sharepoint workflow task deletion rejects the workflow instead of approval ? RRS feed

  • Question

  •  

    Hi,

    We are having a problem using the 'Basic Approval Workflow'. Problem is that when using the approval workflow functionality the final status of a workflow indicates rejected instead of approved when a  task is deleted. If you open the workflow it indicates that the workflow has been deleted however even though all other resources have approved their tasks the overall status of the workflow indicates rejected. The last updated of the task indicates there was a processing error and my suspicions lead me to believe it is because the deletion is being processed as a rejection which I believe is a sharepoint bug. When the workflow is in process we might need to delete some tasks if they are not required.  Is there a way to avoid this using OOB features.

    Thanks,

    Narasimha.


    bnarasimharao

    Tuesday, February 14, 2012 12:19 PM

Answers

  • If someone deletes a workflow task then that task hasn't been approved.  If the task isn't approved then the workflow isn't approved.  If a workflow is supposed to be approved when a certain number of tasks out of the total are approved then the workflow will be approved when that number of tasks is approved.  After that additional tasks can be deleted without affecting the approval status of the workflow.  The point is that you can't delete tasks from a running workflow, only from a completed workflow.  That is by design.

    Paul Stork SharePoint Server
    MVP Chief SharePoint Architect: Sharesquared
    Blog: http://dontpapanic.com/blog
    Twitter: Follow @pstork
    Please remember to mark your question as "answered" if this solves your problem.

    Tuesday, February 14, 2012 12:49 PM

All replies

  • If someone deletes a workflow task then that task hasn't been approved.  If the task isn't approved then the workflow isn't approved.  If a workflow is supposed to be approved when a certain number of tasks out of the total are approved then the workflow will be approved when that number of tasks is approved.  After that additional tasks can be deleted without affecting the approval status of the workflow.  The point is that you can't delete tasks from a running workflow, only from a completed workflow.  That is by design.

    Paul Stork SharePoint Server
    MVP Chief SharePoint Architect: Sharesquared
    Blog: http://dontpapanic.com/blog
    Twitter: Follow @pstork
    Please remember to mark your question as "answered" if this solves your problem.

    Tuesday, February 14, 2012 12:49 PM
  • Hi Paul

    Your response has not considered the flag setting for "Terminate the workflow when a task is rejected".

    Wednesday, November 27, 2013 6:38 AM